Instagram has established itself as one of the most important social networks on the market. With 2.4 billion active users per month and billions of likes per day, the application purchased by the Meta group (also owner of Whatsapp, Facebook, Messenger and Threads) has it all. But this social image network is as annoying as it is seductive.

Users’ distrust of Facebook is now spreading to other Meta group applications. Some users are at that point delete their Instagram account – or even delete their presence on all Meta social networks. There is also criticism of the motives of this image-centered social network, which combines addictive characteristics.

Some members can no longer bear to see so many “perfect” lives and filtered photos flashing before their eyes. Others are addicted to the social network’s recognition or hurt by members’ reactions – and find it difficult to step away. Instagram has tried to eliminate these problems, for example by allowing to hide the number of likes on each photo, but nothing works.

If you want to do the same and delete your Instagram account, follow the guide below.

5 Steps to Delete Instagram:

  1. Open the page of Account deletion on Instagram
  2. Enter your login details
  3. Select the reason why you want to close your account
  4. Confirm the process with your password
  5. Click on the red button

Bad news : You have to go through the web version of Instagram to deactivate and delete your account. In the app, Instagram does not show an option to delete your account. This is the result of a deliberate strategy to create friction to make account deletion more complex.

Instagram states that the actual deletion of the account can take up to three months: “The deletion process can take up to 90 days. Copies of your content may be retained after the 90 day period in the backup system we use to restore your data in the event of loss, disaster or software failure.”.

The Company also has the right to preserve your account and data upon court request. In any case, the data is expected to remain on Instagram’s servers for the first 30 days after your account is deleted. However, your profile is no longer visible to other members.

Since its takeover by Meta Group a few years ago, Instagram has found favor with all generations and even serves as an alternative to Facebook for some. Instagram is a social network where people share their daily lives through photos, videos, Reels and other stories. Popular topics include cinema, gastronomy, travel, celebrities and fashion.

How to (temporarily) block an Instagram account?

There are two ways to get started with Instagram: You can Temporarily deactivate your Instagram account. This action will not delete any data associated with your Instagram account, but you and your content will then temporarily disappear from the social network.

The second option is more radical and definitive because it includes the following Delete your Instagram account to leave the social network forever and leave no trace there. Instagram then commits to permanently deleting all your activity and photos so that you can never find them again.

In any case, as we have informed you, within 90 days and provided that the social network has not received a judicial request. Clearly, Instagram does nothing to facilitate the suspension or deletion of accounts, as the very existence of the social network is justified by its membership.

In our opinion, this is also the reason why account deletion is not possible through the mobile application (which is the gateway to the social network for the vast majority of users). However, Meta will respect your final decision, even if you have to be patient.

How to deactivate your Instagram account :

  1. Open a web browser and go to Instagram
  2. Enter your service credentials
  3. Click on the profile icon in the top right menu
  4. To the right of your nickname, select the “Edit Profile” section.
  5. Click “Temporarily deactivate my account”
  6. Explain the reason for your choice in the menu (optional)
  7. Enter your password to confirm the decision

Once you follow these steps, your account will be deactivated and other users will no longer be able to access your profile. You can still reactivate your account and restore the photos on it: they will not be deleted from the American company’s servers. Account deactivation is by definition temporary and you retain your pseudonym. Unless you completely delete your Instagram account, no one can use the same nickname.

Below you can follow our step-by-step guide with screenshots to complete the process easily. As a side note, note that there is another alternative to deactivating your account: set your profile to private. The effect is the same as other Instagram users will no longer have access to your profile, photos and comments. You can also delete friends who follow you to avoid prying eyes and voyeurs.

Below you will find our step-by-step instructions in pictures on how to delete your Instagram account.

Step 1: Go to your profile, “Edit your profile”.

Delete Instagram account
Instagram screenshot © Presse-citron.net

Step 2: Confirm account deactivation

Confirm account deactivation
Confirm account deactivation © Presse-citron.net

How can I (permanently) delete my Instagram account?

Once you’re sure you’re done with the social network, follow these steps to permanently delete an Instagram account. Before you begin, make sure you save your images to your phone via the app if you want to preserve these memories.

You can also ask Instagram to create an archive of all data (including images) associated with your account. Archive that can be obtained within 14 days of request (via the help pages of the web version).

This process is final and will delete all your photos, videos, reels, stories and other pseudonyms that you have on Instagram. If you later decide to return to the social network, you may no longer be able to use the same nickname.

How to permanently delete your Instagram account :

  1. Open the page of Account deletion on Instagram
  2. Enter your service credentials
  3. Select the reason why you are closing your account
  4. Confirm the process by entering your password
  5. Click on the red button

Below is a screenshot of the interface that shows you in detail how to delete an Instagram account. The design is still reminiscent of old versions of the social network in 2023. This is the only way to permanently deactivate the account.

This process is also irreversible. So think carefully about the content you risk losing forever. We can only encourage you to create backup copies of your photos and videos. For the rest, you can always create a new, more private account to find your friends and browse profiles incognito…

Delete Insta
Delete account © Presse-citron.net

FAQs about closing Instagram accounts

Still have questions about deleting an Instagram account? Check out the answers to the questions our readers ask most often.

Can you delete an Instagram account?

Yes, it is possible to delete an Instagram account. To do this, you need to go to the social network website. It is not possible to delete it from the mobile application.

Can you deactivate your Instagram account?

Yes, it is possible to block your Instagram account and become invisible on the social network. This will not remove all photos and other content you have posted on the network.

Is it easy to unsubscribe?

Instagram doesn’t want you to leave, so it has made the process more complicated. Access is only possible via a web browser. It is not possible to unsubscribe in the mobile application.

Can I save the photos?

Before deleting your Instagram account, you can save all the photos and videos that you have published on the social network.

📍 In order not to miss any news from Presse-citron, follow us on Google News And Whatsapp.




]